innervisions festival presents - ramp (roy ayers music productions)

Innervisions Festival Presents - RAMP (Roy Ayers Music Productions)

Rare Groove Legends RAMP announce an exclusive European Concert.

RAMP is an acronym for Roy Ayers Music Productions. Their sole 1977 album "Come Into Knowledge" is considered one of the classic albums of it's genre. Songs from the album have been sampled by A Tribe Called Quest ("Bonita Applebum"), Common, Pharrell Willliams, Q-Tip & Erykah Badu ('Come Closer"), Roni Size ("Daylight") and many more.

Formed in Cincinnati around 1975. The group consisted of John Manuel, Landy Shores, Sharon Matthews, Sibel Thrasher & Nate White. Originally called Saturday Night Special, the group were discovered by Roy Ayers when they supported him at the Cincinnati Gardens venue in 1976. Roy took the group to Jimi Hendrix's Electric Lady Studios in New York where he, Edwin Birdsong and William Allen wrote the material for their album. Changing the name to RAMP, the group signed with Blue Thumb Records who released "Come Into Knowledge" in 1977 preceded by a collectible 7" single containing their version of the Roy Ayers classic "Everybody Loves The Sunshine".

There are no products matching the selection.